

UNIVERSITY OF ENGINEERING & MANAGEMENT

'University Area', Plot No. III-B/5, Main Arterial Road, New Town, Action Area - III, Kolkata - 700160, W.B., India City Office: 'ASHRAM', GN-34/2, Salt Lake Electronics Complex, Kolkata - 700 091, W.B., INDIA (Established by Act XXV of 2014 of Govt. of West Bengal & recognised by UGC, Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India)

Ph. (Office) : 91 33 2357 7649 : 91 33 2357 2969 : 91 33 6888 8608

Admissions : 91 33 2357 2059

Fax : 91 33 2357 8302

E-mail : vc@uem.edu.in

Website : www.uem.edu.in

OFFICE ORDER

Date: 1st October, 2024

As per the guideline of the First Statute approved by the State Govt, the <u>Research Board</u> of the University has been reconstituted as under:

SI. No.	Name	Designation	Position
1	Prof.(Dr.) Sajal Dasgupta	Vice Chancellor, UEMK	Chairman
2	Prof. (Dr.) Satyajit Chakrabarti	Pro VC, UEMK	Vice Chairman
3	Prof.(Dr.) Hafizur Rahaman	Dean, IIEST Shibpur	External Expert
4	Prof.(Dr.) Abhirup Das Barman	Professor, Radio Physics and Electronics, CU	External Expert
5	Prof.(Dr.) Devadatta Sinha	Retired Professor, CSE Dept, CU	External Expert
6	Prof.(Dr.) Parthapratim Ray	Professor, Department of Physics, Jadavpur University	External Expert
7	Prof.(Dr.) Goutam Saha	Professor, IIT, Kharagpur	External Expert
8	Prof.(Dr.) Rajat Mahapatra	Associate Professor & Dean (Students Welfare), NIT, Durgapur	External Expert
9	Prof.(Dr.) Prabir Pal	Principal Scientist CSIR-Central Glass & Ceramic Research Institute	External Expert
10	Prof.(Dr.) Rajashree Paul	Director IQAC & Deputy Dean Research, UEMK	Member
11	Prof.(Dr.) K.P.Ghatak	Dean (Engineering), UEMK	Member
12	Prof.(Dr.) Abir Chatterjee	Dean (Research), UEMK	Member
13	Prof. (Dr.) Malay Gangopadhyay	Dean (Academics), IEM Kolkata, Saltlake	
14	Prof.(Dr.) Rajiv Ganguly	Dean (Science), UEMK	Member
15	Prof. (Dr.) Shambhu Prasad Chakrabarty	Dean (Law), UEMK	Member
16	Prof. (Dr.) Sundeep Singh Sondhi	Principal, Ashram Campus	Member
17	Prof. Dr. Subhabrata Banerjee	Professor, IEM Kolkata, Saltlake	Member
18	Prof. (Dr.) Kartik Sau	Professor, IEM Kolkata, Newtown	Member
19	Prof. (Dr.) Anirban Das	Professor, IEM Kolkata, Newtown	Member
20	Prof. (Dr.) Shreemoyee Ganguly	Professor, IEM Kolkata, Newtown	Member
21	Prof. (Dr.) Sonali Paul	Professor, IEM Kolkata, Newtown	Member
22	Prof. (Dr.) Prabir Kr. Das	Professor, IEM Kolkata, Saltlake	Convener
23	Prof.(Dr.) Subhalaxmi Chakraborty	Professor, IEM Kolkata, Newtown	Jt. Convener
24	Student Member	B.Tech ,2 nd year	Member

UNIVERSITY OF ENGINEERING & MANAGEMENT

'University Area', Plot No. III-B/5, Main Arterial Road, New Town, Action Area - III, Kolkata - 700160, W.B., India City Office: 'ASHRAM', GN-34/2, Salt Lake Electronics Complex, Kolkata - 700 091, W.B., INDIA (Established by Act XXV of 2014 of Govt. of West Bengal & recognised by UGC, Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India)

Ph. (Office) : 91 33 2357 7649 : 91 33 2357 2969 : 91 33 6888 8608

Admissions : 91 33 2357 2059

Fax : 91 33 2357 8302

E-mail : vc@uem.edu.in

Website : www.uem.edu.in

The power and the functions of this Board will be as follows-

- i. To recommend to the Academic Council the minimum qualifications for a Research Supervisor
- ii. To recommend to the Academic Council the names of University Professors and other Teachers for guiding Research
- iii. To recommend the names of experts from outside the University to the Academic Council for guiding research
- iv. To consider the recommendations of Departmental Research Committees for registration of candidates of PhD degree
- v. To consider the cases of registration for doctoral degree where there is a change of subject or of research topic
- vi. To consider and review the evaluated progress report of a Research Supervisor regarding the work of a candidate for PhD degree, at the end of an Academic year.
- vii. To consider the cases of difference of opinions, if any, between examiners of a PhD thesis and forward recommendation thereto to the Academic Council
- viii. The application and relevant papers for D. Engg. / D.Sc./D.Litt./LL.D. will be sent to the Research Board of the University and the members of the said committee will assess the suitability of the proposed research work for the degree for which the registration is sought.
- ix. To discharge the duties assigned by the Chairman as and when required.

The quorum of the meeting will be One-third of the total number of the members rounded off to the next integer.

Cc to:

- 1. Chancellor
- 2. Pro-Vice Chancellor
- 3. Deans
- 4. Registrar
- 5. HODs

Prof. (Dr.) Sajal Dasgupta

Vice Chancellor